Baby D Makes Three

born December 27, 2012

for funsies

on August 1, 2012

the gender reveal is only 3 days away! so, just for fun, let’s take a look at some of those Old Wives Tales people like to use to predict the gender of a baby.

I feel I should put a disclaimer here: I realize these are not medically validated ways to predict the gender of my baby. this is just for giggles. oh, and I also didn’t do all of them. like the ring on a string. I never had string when I thought about that one.

Chinese Calendar: Girl this is a calculation using the Chinese Lunar Month of Conception and the Mother’s Age at the time of Conception. I just used a chart I found online 😛

Cravings: Boy salty signifies boy, while sweet signifies girl

Morning Sickness: Girl all day, every day morning sickness in the first trimester

Mayan Calendar: Girl this one takes into account my age, and the year the baby was conceived. If both are even, or both are odd, they predict girl, if one is even and one is odd, they predict boy.)

Skin: Boy acne free. this one made me laugh a little. apparently if your skin is a mess, it’s because your daughter is stealing your beauty. man, if anyone came up to me and said, ‘I think you are having a girl because you aren’t as pretty,’ they would get the ugly end of the pregnancy hormones for sure.

Sleep: Girl if you prefer to sleep on the right side – girl, left side – boy

Hands: Boy dry signifies boy, soft signifies girl

Graceful or Clumsy: Boy clumsy – boy, graceful – girl; I’m not sure this one is fair as I was CLUMSY before getting pregnant 😛

Mood Swings: Girl mood swings – girl, steady moods – boy

Carrying: Boy low – boy, high – girl

Husband’s weight: Boy not gaining or losing weight – boy, gaining weight – girl

Cold Feet: Girl if your feet are colder since becoming pregnant – boy, if they are the same – girl. My feet were always freezing before, and I have not noticed a difference

Bread: Girl if you want to eat the heel of the bread – boy, the middle – girl

Nail Health: Boy if your nails grow faster and stronger – boy, if they become weak and brittle – girl

Leg Hair: Boy if your leg hair grows faster – boy, the same – girl

The Mother-In-Law Test: Girl apparently, the gender of your mother-in-law’s first child predicts the gender of your first child.

So let’s do some math. that was 16 questions. the results:

Boy – 8

Girl – 8

ha! well I guess they say these predictors have a 50/50 chance of being right for a reason. so…

I guess we will all just have to wait until Saturday to find out.

One response to “for funsies

  1. jessica says:

    Haha! I love that it still ends up 50/50 🙂

Leave a Reply

