Baby D Makes Three

born December 27, 2012

letters to my baby

on September 20, 2012

dear baby,

there are stories I want to tell you. not just the make-believe kind, although, I can’t wait to tell you those also. but the real life kind. these are our stories. the stories that make up who we are, why we are a family.

four years ago today, on September 20, 2008, your daddy took me on our first date. and we haven’t been apart more than a couple of days at a time since. as I got ready for him to pick me up, I remember thinking to myself, that this could be the last first date I ever go on. and by the end of the night, I knew it would be. I knew on that first date that I would marry him.

we didn’t have to play games. we didn’t play it safe. we jumped in with both feet. and baby girl? it was the scariest, most thrilling thing I had ever experienced up to that point. I was so used to playing by the invisible dating rules, I was unsure how to navigate those uncharted waters. but it was worth it. letting myself fall head over heels in love with your father, within a matter of days really. it was risky. some said it was stupid. but it was the best decision I ever made. because while love is a delicious feeling I hope you experience fully, it is also a decision. a decision to be kind, and loving, and generous, and passionate, and thoughtful. even when you don’t feel like it, or you don’t like the other person very much in the moment.

your daddy was the first man to treat me the way all women deserve to be treated. I wasn’t sure I deserved it. I wasn’t sure I was worthy of your daddy. but he patiently proved that we were worthy of each other. he showed me that someone could truly love me for who I really am. and that I could love someone for who they really are.  and I am so thankful he did. because if he hadn’t, I wouldn’t have him. I wouldn’t have you.

baby girl, I pray that as you grow up, your daddy and I teach you well, so that when your turn comes, you will know what love and marriage should look like. so when it’s time to tell your story to your babies, you will have what I have. so much joy in your heart it makes you cry. and so much love to share, it can be painful. most of all baby girl, I pray that you will know how much your mommy and daddy love each other, and how much we love you.

~first we had each other. then we had you. now we have everything~

Love,

your mama

2 responses to “letters to my baby

  1. Jen says:

    What to say, Kate…you inspire all of us. You renew hope for a better way to live and love and laugh. Your little girl is lucky indeed to have you as her Mom and J as her Dad. Thank you for sharing your heart and your mind with people like me through your beautiful words and stories. They are to be cherished as are you.

Leave a Reply

