Baby D Makes Three

born December 27, 2012

kick counting

on October 11, 2012

numerous sources have told me I should start monitoring baby girl’s kicks. they suggest laying down for an hour, twice a day. they say I should feel at least 10 kicks in that time. also, once I’ve reached 10 kicks, I’m done, I don’t have to count kicks for the whole hour. I took this to mean that an average baby kicks 10 times in an hour. but I was thinking to myself who has time to lay down for an hour twice a day?! and if I were to lay down, I guarantee you, I’d be asleep in less than 20 minutes ๐Ÿ˜›

our little girl is active. I know this, so I’m not really worried about actually counting kicks to make sure she is active enough, and our doctor has not recommended counting kicks, but I was curious. so I downloaded a kick counting app to my phone. and then as I was sitting at work, I started it up when I felt a good solid kick. and then hit that kick button every time she gave me a jab. fully expecting it to take close to an hour to get 10 kicks.

nope. not our little girl. 5 minutes and 29 seconds and she had given me 10 solid kicks.

I will repeat. our little girl is active. ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

