Baby D Makes Three

born December 27, 2012

a moveable feast

on October 17, 2012

we took the breastfeeding class last night and I’m so glad we did. I feel so much more confident in my ability to breastfeed, and less anxious about possible complications or roadblocks. I also liked the instructor for this class much more than I did the baby basics class. she was down to earth and mellow, and so knowledgeable. I think she really did a good job making sure everyone was comfortable, which I think would be hard to do with a topic like breastfeeding.

we learned some interesting statistics and got some great information, but what I think was really helpful was the video where it showed a lactation consultant assisting a new mom with latch. no matter how many times I looked at the pictures in the womanly art of breastfeeding book, I couldn’t figure out what a good latch was actually supposed to look like. so it was really helpful to see one.

I have found a couple of dvds on netflix that are specific to parenting, pregnancy, and labor and delivery. they have been very informative. I think I’ll look to see if I can find any on breastfeeding as well. I’ve become a truly visual learner. while I can still get basic information from reading, I’ve found I really need to see something before I feel comfortable trying it (at least when it comes to baby stuff :P)

we are noticing that the more classes we attend, books we read, and videos we watch, our hospital packing list is getting longer and longer. every new source says, “it’s a good idea to bring _____ with you to the hospital.” J wants to know how we are going to get all of our belongings to and from the hospital, especially since we will be returning with a newborn 😛 I guess we’ll cross that bridge when we get there.

2 responses to “a moveable feast

  1. Holly says:

    I brought everything and the kitchen sink to the hospital when we had A.J. and I didn’t use any of it. So with Leyna I literally brought her coming home outfit, mittens, hat, etc. my toothbrush, contact stuff, hairbrush and 1 outfit. Both times I left the hospital wearing the same clothes I went in, comfy sweats!

    • I’ve heard you don’t really use the stuff you bring with you. I might pack two bags. one of the stuff I KNOW we will need and one of the stuff I’m not sure of and we can always leave that one in the car so if I need something, it’s in the parking lot and not at the house 😛

Leave a Reply

