Baby D Makes Three

born December 27, 2012

update

on February 6, 2013

I’m a bad, bad blogger. it seems every time I find a moment to think about what I might want to write about, Cora starts to cry, or I realize the dishwasher is full, or hey! I can shower! the past (almost) 6 weeks have been exhausting, amazing, and indescribable.

I’ve had so many sweet mommy moments with this beautiful little girl and I am so grateful that I’ve had the opportunity to stay at home with Cora so far. sleep is getting better. Cora slept for 8 hours the other night, giving me 7 hours of beautiful sleep. and she slept 7 hours the two nights previous to that, and 7 hours last night, so I am grateful for that too. she has actually been a pretty good sleeper from the beginning. she would sleep two to four hours at a time in the night since birth and she has gradually been increasing the time she sleeps. don’t get me wrong, she is a newborn, so we have had our fair share of rough nights. sometimes she is just inconsolable but usually only if she has been overstimulated during the day or is overtired (this mama can’t blame her as she sometimes feels exactly the same way at the end of the day :P).

Cora is also a champion eater. she has a great latch and eats very efficiently. I think the longest a nursing session has lasted is about 40 minutes. usually she is finished in 10 to 20 minutes. I am very thankful she has not had any problem eating or gaining weight. at her 2 week check up, she had already gained all of the weight she had lost back, plus a half a pound. and she just keeps getting bigger and bigger. it’s bittersweet seeing her already grow and change from my teeny tiny newborn to this (almost) 6 week old.

I’m working on writing about Cora’s first month and getting some photos uploaded.

Leave a Reply

