Baby D Makes Three

born December 27, 2012

sometimes

on May 1, 2013

Dear Cora,

Sometimes, you cry inconsolably in the middle of the night and I can’t fix it. You won’t nurse, you won’t let me rock you, you won’t lay in your crib with your pacifier. It seems that everything I try makes you even more mad.

Sometimes, once I manage to get you back to sleep, I sit in your room and wait for you to spit out your pacifier and cry. Because I know you will, and if I get back in bed it will just be worse for me.

Sometimes, I honestly believe I will never sleep again. That I will live exhausted and cranky and I might miss out on enjoying your childhood because I’m too tired.

Sometimes, I’m cranky with your dad when he makes a suggestion about why you are upset when he will only be awake for a minute and I don’t know how long I will be awake.

Sometimes, I feel like everything I do is wrong.

So sometimes, I have to remember that everything is a phase. That you will sleep better again, that your daddy is just trying to help, and that I’m doing the best I know how.

Leave a Reply

