Baby D Makes Three

born December 27, 2012

hot mess

on June 10, 2013

this weekend was a total hot mess at our house.

I ate something bad on friday. so I had stomach flu-like symptoms for most of the evening and into saturday morning.

saturday morning came around, and Cora had a runny nose, and was very congested. it was also 106 degrees by the afternoon (I meant hot mess literally). since Cora didn’t seem overly cranky, we chalked the runny nose up to the change in weather, and went to a second birthday party where Cora enjoyed splashing in the kiddie pool, and J and I melted (did I mention 106 degrees?). over the course of the afternoon, as I used more and more boogie wipes, I started to wonder if this was a cold and not weather related. but she continued to power through it with minimal crankiness.

sunday morning came with more congestion, and a little more whining, but nothing too awful. we went to church as I was scheduled to volunteer in the nursery, and Cora had fun with the few toys I handed her.

sunday afternoon is when the real hot mess hit. this is definitely her first cold. she was congested, runny-nosed, cranky, and having a harder time eating. it was also pretty obvious the teething fairy had visited at the same time. she was inconsolable. she hates having her nose wiped or suctioned, and her poor teeth are hurting her so badly. towards the evening, I started to feel like I was coming down with a cold too. my throat started hurting, and my nose started running. perfect.

it was so hard to listen to my precious, teeny, baby girl sniffle and cough on the baby monitor. and even worse to hear the whimpers throughout the night that to me say, I don’t feel good. I was up way more often than normal, retrieving her pacifier, or just going in to put my hand to her forehead to check for a fever, or to kiss her and hope that my love could magically take the sickness away.

we had a rough night to say the least, and when this morning came, Cora had a small cough and was still congested. my head feels like it’s going to explode, my throat is sore, and my nose is a faucet. J stayed home with Cora as I went to work. I felt so guilty leaving her since this is her first sickness, but I was scheduled to observe an administrative hearing this morning, and I felt I needed to do that as a refresher for my job. I’m so thankful J has a flexible job too, and can stay home with her when I’m not able to.

now I’m counting the hours until I can go home and cuddle my baby, who will hopefully be feeling better.

Leave a Reply

