Baby D Makes Three

born December 27, 2012

how did it get so late so soon?

on June 27, 2013

How did it get so late so soon? It’s night before it’s afternoon. December is here before it’s June. My goodness how the time has flewn. How did it get so late so soon? ― Dr. Seuss

my baby is 6 months old today. where has that time gone? I have been back at work for 1 month. where has that time gone?

I spent my entire childhood hoping time would speed up, that I would grow up faster, that I would be an adult, that my life would begin. and it seemed to take FOREVER. time moved so slowly.

then I turned 18. and I blinked. now I’m 28. I have a husband, a home, and 6 months of pure joy in a tiny baby girl package. I’m afraid if I take a nap, she’ll be 28. with a husband. and possibly a baby of her own.

I feel like I’m standing still while time rushes by me and I have my hands outstretched, desperately trying to slow it down, to grab on to the good times, and hold them tight, before they are gone.

there isn’t enough time in the day to be all things. to be a mother, a wife, a friend, a daughter, a sister,  a coworker, an employee, a housekeeper, a crafter, a blogger. I’m a poor juggler. I am working towards being ok with not getting everything done every day. and focusing on being a wife and mother first. if that means I go to bed, and get up the next day, and the living room is still a mess from the night before, that’s the way it is. I’m trying to soak up all of this beautiful time with a little girl who learns, grows, and develops every day. every night as I’m getting ready for bed, utterly exhausted, and craving sleep, I think, someday, I will want this time back. and that keeps me going.

Leave a Reply

